Running shorts don’t love me

The weather this weekend was gorgeous!  Mid – 70s and Sunny all weekend! I can come up with the craziest excuses of why I can’t go running.  But I had none! I actually ran 3 days in a row.

Friday, my day off, I started out on 4 mile run that turned into a 6.5mile run.  I felt awesome and my splits were at least 30 seconds lower than my normal runs. Took me about hour. Not an hour straight, I stopped the clock for my 2 walking breaks and I had to make a pit stop back to my house after about a mile to change my outfit….

Originally,  I put on the snazzy new running shorts I received from New Balance at Fitbloggin.  Everyone else loved them!  Initially, I did too!  The shorts sat right on my waist, were not too short and had a pocket for my ipod.  Turns out the pocket was too small for my iPod Touch, which I found out after I was out on the road! Fail!

Changed from this:

Shorts look awesome!

To This:

Running Skirt!

I want to love running shorts.  Companies always come out with the cutest colors. Some are even NOT pink! (I have strong feelings against pink workout gear) And they are light and cool in the summer unlike some soccer or lacrosse shorts.

The problem is Running Shorts don’t love me.

No matter what I do, the shorts ride up and bunch.  It feels like I have on a bulky diaper. Though I have no idea how it looks,  it is an incredibly uncomfortable feeling. But I bet I look pretty ridiculous!  Each step I take, I think chaf-ing, chaf-ing. I never actually chafe because I turn around and change my outfit.

I have the same issue with running skirts.  The skimpy “compression” short found underneath most skirt ride right up.   In outfit #2 above, I have on a running skirt that has shorts AND Under Armour 7′ compression shorts.

LOVE these!  The 7″ is the only pair I found to stay in place!  I also wore a black pair for my Half Mary underneath a plaid running skirt:

Its close to impossible to find anything that I like and fits and doesn’t ride up.  Even my capris ride up!  The start out on my calves and end up bunched around my knees.   Since the weather warming up, it is becoming more of a problem.  This wasn’t an issue during the winter because I wore tights all the time.   And before last fall, I would wear lacrosse or soccer shorts, usually longer but heavier (aka hotter).

It is absolutely getting on my nerves. I have tried on shorts and skirts of just about every brand out there.  Nothing seems to stay put. Think maybe I will just switch to capris?  I really love the Lululemon Crops but shelling out $86 for crops hurts more than just my wallet.  I ordered this SkirtGoddess Skirt, which has 7′ shorts underneath!  Unfortunately even if it works, they are going out of business. :/

I have been  trying to NOT use fat talk and build a better body image.  Hard to banish fat talk  though when I feel my ‘large’ thighs are the reason everything ride up.  So the other day, I took a long look at my thoughts and my thighs.

I recently read that most women think they are  bigger then they actually are.  I definitely suffer from this!  I took a hard look at other women runners. Guess what?  Most ladies don’t have smaller thighs than me! Yet, they can run  in running shorts and skirts.

Me Thinks my gait and foot landing is the issue with things riding up.  I have neutral landing, meaning I run on the outer edges of my feet. I also run with one foot in front of the other.   This is considered a  more bio-mechanically efficient stride.

So tomorrow when I go on a search for running bottoms, I know it’s a struggle because of how I run NOT because of my body.  It makes me awesome!

Take that Fat Talk!

4 Responses to “Running shorts don’t love me”


  1. 1 Sana April 9, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    You look great in those shorts even if they are a big diaper mess! Good luck on finding something that works!

  2. 2 merrymishaps April 9, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    I haven’t run in shorts ever since I fell in love with running skirts. Have you tried any with briefs rather than compression shorts? There’s nothing to ride up! I like runningskirts.com. Pretty soon it’ll be way too hot for capris!

  3. 3 inmytummy April 11, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Just found your blog. I have the same problem with shorts. I cannot find any that don’t ride up. So annoying since I live in Atlanta and it’s very hot in the summer.

    PS – My dad always raves about that Pike’s Peek 10K on your race list. Have you done it before. (I grew up in Rockville.)

  4. 4 Caroline April 11, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Good thinking! I have to admit it will be a surprising day if anyone ever catches me in a running skirt. Now if they made them for cycling I might try one….


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Hi! I may be the least motivated person around. I am a 20-something working at my first job in the Computer industry. Just trying to get motivated in life - fitness, health, school, work and every day tasks

2010 Race Schedule:
3/7 - Disney Princess Half Marathon - DONE! 2:10:29
4/25 - Pike's Peek 10k
6/15 - Baltimore 10 miler
10/16 - Baltimore Half Marathon

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

