The story…

Welcome to my blog! Come with me as I try to get fit and healthy for life!

First, my story…

My name is Kate. I am a 20 something working in the computer industry, living close to DC.  I graduated from college a little over a year ago, without goals or a life plan.   I soon found a job with a small contracting firm outside of DC. I have always wanted to live in DC, growing up north of the capital. I thought I was about to live my dream of being a big city girl!

I was wrong, very, very wrong.

The Job? O my, it was horribly boring as most first jobs are. I love my company, where I worked, who and what I worked with but what I did was mind-numbing. Honestly, I could feel my brain rotting as the days went on.

For me, the worst part of having a easy, tedious job was the boredom that spilled into my regular life.  After 8 to 9 hours a day doing brainless tasks, I didn’t want to do anything when I got home. I didn’t want to exercise, work on grad school applications, study for certifications, or plan meals. No motivation at all! I grew up playing soccer and lacrosse through high school an college, and now was the first time I did not have a team. And without the drive of a team, I had no drive to workout.

Throw back to High School Soccer!

Recently one morning, I was putting on my ‘fat’ work pants and realized they didn’t fit anymore. I had gained 20 pounds since graduation. I did not like the way I looked or how my clothes fit.

So I have decided to make some changes.  I have committed to run my first half marathon, signed up for a training program and slowly am changing my diet.  I was also lucky enough to get a promotion so work is not as mind numbing 😀

Helping me to get motivated were some great health and fitness blogs that I have found. And after being a blog stalker for a few months, I have decided to start my own!

Please join me as I get motivated to be healthy and happy!

0 Responses to “The story…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Hi! I may be the least motivated person around. I am a 20-something working at my first job in the Computer industry. Just trying to get motivated in life - fitness, health, school, work and every day tasks

2010 Race Schedule:
3/7 - Disney Princess Half Marathon - DONE! 2:10:29
4/25 - Pike's Peek 10k
6/15 - Baltimore 10 miler
10/16 - Baltimore Half Marathon

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


