T-Minus 2 Weeks

Where have the last 4 months gone?!  My half marathon is less than 2 weeks away and I am not as prepared as I could be for it.

Sure,  I can come up with a number of excuses:  the largest snowfall in the area EVER (70+ inches), my apartment gym being closed for a month, vacation, getting sick, the holidays, the bitter cold, the short days and  ect. ,  ect., ect…

But after all that, I haven’t trained as much as I should have.  Will I still be able to run the half marathon? You betcha! Will I accomplish my goal time? No, probably not.

When I signed up for training last November, I was excited for the experience,  MOTIVATED to run more than 2 miles at a time, terrified to run 13 miles.  My pervious PDR was about 4 miles.

And for a bit I did work hard, I got up in the mornings to run. I ate well.  I felt great!  Then it got cold and dark and the holidays happened.  Mother Nature decided to dump 3 snowstorms over 20 inches.

When I did run, about 75% of my runs were not fun or decent runs.  Treadmills and I don’t get along.  Most of my runs end early or are way too slow. This is not a physical thing, its all in my mind.  Running is 85.4% mental.

The one thing I did not skimp on is my long runs.  My training plan/group had us originally going to 14 miles but due to the snow I only got to 11.5.

So I know I can do the 13.1. And the mental part will be easy because I will be in Disney World! (once I get over the 5:30 am line up time!) How can I not be excited to run in a race with PRINCESS in the title!  There will be tiara and tutu wearing!

Bring it on!

0 Responses to “T-Minus 2 Weeks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Hi! I may be the least motivated person around. I am a 20-something working at my first job in the Computer industry. Just trying to get motivated in life - fitness, health, school, work and every day tasks

2010 Race Schedule:
3/7 - Disney Princess Half Marathon - DONE! 2:10:29
4/25 - Pike's Peek 10k
6/15 - Baltimore 10 miler
10/16 - Baltimore Half Marathon

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


